North East Derbyshire & Bolsover Lib Dems announce candidates for County Council elections in May 2017

North East Derbyshire & Bolsover Liberal Democrats are taking no prisoners as we are set to field a full slate of candidates in all Derbyshire County Council seats within our local party boundary for the first time in over 50 years.

This is no coincidence. This is due to the large increase in our membership following the Conservatives taking a plunge to the right, UKIP plunge into obscurity and Labour Party taking a plunge off a cliff.

Many voters are telling us on the doorsteps how they are switching from other parties to the Liberal Democrats as we are the only political party who are putting people before politics.

Democracy restored

Local Party Chair, Ross Shipman said “Democracy is being restore in North East Derbyshire and Bolsover as local people will have the choice to vote for a Lib Dem on 4th May 2017. ” He added: “As we have shown in Tupton, North East Derbyshire, where we work we win and when we win, we work – something the other parties forget to do as soon as they are elected.”

North East Derbyshire Divisions (8 seats)

Clay Cross North (1 Seat): Cllr David Hancock

Clay Cross South (1 Seat): Sam Jones

Dronfield East (1 Seat): Cllr John Ahern

Dronfield West (1 Seat): Martin Wilcock

Eckington & Killamarsh (2 seats): Carmen Levick, James Blundell

Sutton (1 Seat): Jaimie Barson

Wingerworth & Shirland (1 Seat): Cllr Wendy Smalley


Bolsover Divisions (6 seats)

Barlborough & Clowne (1 Seat): Cllr Ben Marshall

Bolsover North (1 Seat): Jayne Phoenix

Bolsover South (1 Seat): Steven Raison

Shirebrook & Pleasley (1 Seat): Ross Shipman

South Normanton & Pinxton (1 Seat): Martin Cheung

Tibshelf (1 Seat): David Roulston

Two Parish Council elections are due to take place on the same day as the County Council elections and our candidates are as follows:

Tupton – Pamela Windley

Pleasley (and Houghton) – Ross Shipman


If you want to support us during this campaign by delivering leaflets in your area; please contact our secretary by emailing or alternatively you can donate to our campaigns by clicking here.

You can also join the hundreds of local residents who have completed our quick 10 minute survey on what matters to them most in their local area by clicking here.

Leave a Reply